IELTS For UKVI And Standard IELTS: The Differences

Travel Guides 5 Mins Read December 16, 2022 Posted by Sumona

The IELTS test is one of the most popular and widely recognized English language tests in the world. It’s also one of the most flexible, as there are many different versions of the test available to suit your specific needs.

Each version has its own unique format and purpose. If you’re looking to take an IELTS test for a specific reason, like university admission or immigration requirements, you’ll need to know which one is right for your situation.

Let’s look at two common reasons people take IELTS tests: UKVI (United Kingdom Visas & Immigration) and standardized test preparation for university applications or moving abroad permanently (Standard).

IELTS For UKVI vs. Standard IELTS

Free photo high angle passport and tickets arrangement

The IELTS for UKVI and the Standard IELTS are two different versions of the IELTS test. The former is used for immigration purposes and guarantees a pass, but only if you are applying to live in the United Kingdom.

The latter is used exclusively for academic purposes and can be taken by anyone who wishes to study at a British university. Both tests are recognized by many international universities as well as the British Council, so they’re not just useful for those hoping to move here permanently!

What’s more, both tests are recognised by the British Government, which means that passing them will allow you access to further opportunities such as study abroad programs or working holiday visas!

Which Test Should I Take?

Photo people holding passports and coronavirus vaccination card, map for travel with luggage for the trip. covid-19 around the world

These two tests are different in a number of key ways. The most obvious is that the UKVI test is more difficult than the standard IELTS test, with a sectional difficulty rating of 7 to 8 (100 being easiest). It also includes a writing task where you must compose an essay about any topic for one hour.

This means it?s much harder to get a good score on this test, but if you want to apply for British citizenship or permanent residency then this may be your best option. If you’re applying for university in the UK or Australia then take our Standard IELTS exam instead?it’s easier!

Comparing The Two Tests

Photo hand for tourist holding passport to authorities

The two tests have a lot in common. Both are recognized by the UKVI and other English-speaking countries around the world, including Australia, Canada and New Zealand. They’re also recognized by a number of higher education institutions around the world as well as employers. So if you’re planning on studying or working abroad it’s worth considering taking one of these tests.

Both tests have a similar format: they consist of four sections (reading, listening, speaking, and writing) which are each graded on scales ranging from band 1-9 (zero being the lowest and nine being the highest). In addition to this, there’s also an optional essay section at standard IELTS where students can demonstrate their language skills through an analysis of an academic reading passage.

What?s The Difference In Preparation?

Free photo medium shot smiley woman traveling

The main difference between IELTS for UKVI and Standard IELTS is that the latter is more focused on everyday language. The writing section of the test, for example, focuses more on academic writing than Standard IELTS does. In addition, there is a speaking test in Standard IELTS but not in IELTS for UKVI.

It?s also important to note that while both tests require you to write an essay, only one of them has an essay question: standard practice tests rely heavily on reading comprehension questions while practice materials created specifically for IELTS exams often include writing prompts or specific themes that need to be addressed in your answer (for example: ?How have you changed since being in college??).

Do My Test Results Expire?

Free photo portrait of smiling woman showing air ticket and passport

Your test results expire two years after they are issued. This means that you can only take the test once every two years (unless you have a special reason). If you do not pass the test on your first attempt, it will be invalidated and you will need to wait another two years before taking it again. If you want to apply for an immigration visa within that time frame, then make sure that your application is made at least six months before the expiry date of your score report.

How Much Do These Tests Cost?

Free photo white screen display smart phone; map; passport; toy airplane and shoes on light and dark background

The cost of the test is going to vary, depending on where you live. For non-students, the test is around $250 USD in most countries and can be as high as $340 USD in India. If you are a student and want to take the test in Australia, Canada, or Ireland (or other countries) then it will only cost between $150-$200 USD to take both modules of IELTS at one time.

However, if you are not a student then you will need to pay about $250 for each module ($50 for each module if sitting them separately). It really depends on where you live and what type of institution is administering your exam?if you?re looking into taking either version of IELTS for UKVI or Standard IELTS purposes then make sure that they provide lower rates for students before committing yourself!

There Are Two Different Types Of IELTS Tests, But They Are Both Recognized In A Similar Way

Photo passport of ukraine and a small model aircraft the concept of going abroad refugees people are fleeing the country war in ukraine russia attacked ukraine

IELTS is a popular language test that is recognized by many countries. There are two types of IELTS tests: the International English Language Testing System (IELTS) and the British Council Standard IELTS. The difference between them is that the International English Language Testing System (IELTS) has been developed by the British Council and administered in over 100 countries worldwide, while Standard IELTS was created specifically for use by UKVI. They are both recognized in a similar way.


So, to sum up: IELTS tests are taken by people all over the world. They are recognized by many governments including the UK and Australia as well as some universities around the world. The two main types of IELTS tests are Standard and Academic, but both types offer British Council certificates that can be used for immigration purposes.


Sumona is the publisher for SBNewsRoom. Besides her professional commitments, she is also used to spending time sharing sentient blogs regarding genres like current affairs, health, and traveling. Follow her contributions in SmartBusinessDaily and RealWealthBusiness

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *